University football

Football is a huge part of my life. In fact, it probably is my life. This might sound like a cliché, but I honestly don’t know what I’d do without it.

I have always watched and played football ever since I was a little boy. If I wasn’t playing competitively, I would be down the local park having a kick about with my mates, or walking around the house with a ball at my feet. Wherever I was, I could almost guarantee that I would have been doing something football related.

America

I am lucky enough to have achieved almost everything I’ve wanted to achieve in football. There is however, something that occasionally still loiters around at the back of my mind. In the summer of 2015 I was given the opportunity of playing football (or soccer!) in America on a scholarship. As you could imagine, when I first heard about this I was absolutely over the moon and I couldn’t wait to get out there. I could have been going to California to play the sport I love, how crazy is that?! However, when I got round to finalising the last few details, I realised I couldn’t really do this. To cut a long story short, financially it was a huge issue. The scholarship was great, but it wasn’t great enough, meaning I still had to find a significant sum of money which quite frankly I didn’t have. I could have gone for a year, but that would have been it. There was no way I could financially commit to the four years that were required to complete the scholarship. So that was that. The American dream was over.

12549103_938121709575134_4008612574652513025_n

Bournemouth

Due to the unfortunate circumstances regarding America, when I came to Bournemouth University I was determined to make it onto the varsity team. It was always going to be difficult, and I realised this straight away at the very first training session. The quality of players in that side opened my eyes and made me realise I needed to improve. I continued to work hard and after a couple of weeks I was selected for the squad. Fortunately, I have remained there ever since.

Unbelievably, both teams only have one game left to play this season. The time has absolutely flown by and the first year of university football is almost over. I think it is fair to say that it has been a fairly successful year. The first team still have a slim chance of winning their league and the third team find themselves in second place in theirs.

I have loved every single minute of being a part of the varsity team. I have met a fantastic group of guys and it has been a pleasure to play and train on the same pitch as them. I am so happy I ended up choosing Bournemouth. Hopefully next season will be as enjoyable and successful as this one.

12523206_938122299575075_7023892953881734130_n

Leave a Reply

